Revisions

The WordPress revisions system stores a record of your content each time it is saved, updated, or published. The revision system allows you to see what changes were made in each revision by dragging a slider (or using the Next/Previous buttons). The display indicates what has changed in each revision—what was added, what remained unchanged, and what was removed. Lines added or removed are highlighted, and individual character changes get additional highlighting. Click the ‘Restore This Revision’ button to restore a revision.

The revisions page also includes a ‘compare any two revisions’ mode that allows you to compare any two individual revisions. In this mode, the slider has two handles, one representing the revision you are comparing from and one representing the revision you are comparing with. Drag the handles to see what has changed between any two specific revisions. Note: the ‘Restore This Revision’ button always restores the revision you are comparing with.

To return to the post edit screen without restoring a revision, click on the post title at the top of the page.

Revisions work hand in hand with autosave to ensure you’re able to restore your content if you make a mistake.

Limitations

Unfortunately, WordPress does not show revisions or autosave any content outside of the main editor. This includes content for plugins such as BU Banners, BU Landing Pages, and many theme customizations. Please keep this in mind as you edit your pages on your website.